• SESSION 1285: FUNKY SLICE 04.20.12

    Mixed by Matthew Brownell

    01. Western Spaces – In the Heart of Venus
    02. Spacetime Continuum Freelon – Chrystalline Entity
    03. Shantel – Considerando (Echoplex 2000)
    04. Phil Manzanera – Criollo (French Mix)
    05. Bem-Vinda Amizade – Curumin Chama Cunhata ue Eu Vou Contar
    06. Daddy Guts Lanciano Feat. The Xsupervisor – For My Mother
    07. Hollie Cook – It’s So Different Here
    08. Christian Boule – 5e Ocean
    09. Steve Moore – Volatile Memory
    10. Helen – Zanzibar


    Funky Slice Vinyl Shop is the ultimate underground boutique for professional DJs, Record collectors and music lovers.

    Funky Slice is a membership record listening joint. From a Hidden Fortress on a Daily Basis local DJs in the know deliver The Daily Session, a live streaming Radio Show providing eclectic mixes directly from the heart of New York’s underground. We keep our store’s location undisclosed to allow us to listen and share music, and In Order to Dance, in a completely free and shared environment, and of course through a proper sound system equipped with a sweet spot so you don’t lose the warmth and juiciest parts that only vinyl music can offer.

    In a digitally and Mp3 dominated music world respect and appreciation of music is difficult to accomplish. At Funky Slice what we are offering is not just vinyl, but a whole experience of record digging, crates included. Featuring an infinite array of diverse and unrivaled hand-picked selections from unique and singular categories, this vinyl shop serves up the wax you must have. Dropping needles in our listening booth while admiring sleeve art and choosing and discovering all those hard to find gems, in a conducive green environment, you can relax and enjoy the entire record listening experience.

    Funky Slice Vinyl Shop is not only a shopping place but a community center for vinyl enthusiasts, connoisseurs and junkies. Not only do we exchange information about records and parties but art, ventures and ideas. It is a cultural exchange between different ages, sexes, races under music.

    Home of Funky Slice Vinyl Shop and one of the many locations from where The Daily Session is broadcasted, The Cedar Room completes the circle of this exclusive collective. Several times a month through invitation only, The Cedar Room opens its doors to its members for the ultra exclusive Nininja Party. It’s an enlightening gathering.

    By Jez


    By Roy Furchgott – NY Times

    Buying records is easy. You can find them by the milk crate at yard sales, for a few dollars apiece in used record stores, and there are new, special pressings by contemporary musicians like Shelby Lynne, whose “Just a Little Lovin’” album, at $30, is a top seller. But buying the instrument needed to listen to them, a turntable, is a different matter.

    “Young people didn’t grow up with turntables,” said Kenny Bowers, manager at Needle Doctor, a Minnesota store specializing in turntables. “It seems mysterious and complicated because you don’t just push a button and have it play for you.”

    There are advantages to old-fashioned analog music, according to some audiophiles. “There is a fuller sound to it, and more depth to the sound,” said Ryan Holiday, the New Orleans-based marketing director for American Apparel. He’s a new devotee of jazz and David Bowie, thanks to LPs. (For the youngsters, that stands for long playing, as in long-playing record; there were also small records called 45s). “I could hear hands going up and down the frets, and stuff that they probably didn’t want you to hear. Which is a nice little surprise,” he said. [Read More]

  • SESSION 1284: VOICE OF VOICE 04.17.12

    Mixed by Ali Coleman


    By  – NY Times

    Last week Ralf Hütter, the singer and founder of the pioneering German electronic band Kraftwerk, recalled the first time the band came to New York City: in 1975, for an American tour to promote “Autobahn,” an unlikely hit sung in German and backed by electronics. The group members were carrying, he said, a few suitcases, some synthesizers in padded boxes they had built themselves and, for visuals, a slide projector.

    Things have changed. For Retrospective 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 at the Museum of Modern Art — eight sold-out concerts that conclude Tuesday, with Kraftwerk playing through each of its eight studio albums from 1974 to 2003 — Kraftwerk deploys 3-D video projectors that send images leaping forward from the stage, along with a custom surround-sound installation including overhead speakers and a sleekly concealed wall of woofers at the front of the stage. (A multimedia exhibition at MoMA PS1 continues through May 14.) [Read More]

  • SESSION 1283: VINYLMANIA 04.17.12

    Mixed by Eric Lopez aka “BigE”

    01. Unknown – East Pointe
    02. The Way
    03. DJ Steaw – Naya Buddy
    04. Don Curtin – Calia
    05. DJ Steaw – Traume
    06. Gabriele Carasco – Passengers
    07. John Spring Benzo – Playing No More Games
    08. Tanzlife – Heart Attack
    09. Jimpster – Late Night Blues
    10. Nightsourse – Rise Above

  • SESSION 1282: FUNKY SLICE 04.16.12

    Mixed by Earl Broclo Esq

    01. Luke Vibert – Get Your Head Down
    02. Red Snapper – Bogeyman
    03. The Avalanches – A Different Feeling
    04. Up, Bustle & Out – La Morena En El Viento Andaluz
    05. Five Deez – Lattitude
    06. Lyrics Born – Hott People
    07. The Fly Guys – Fly Guys Rap
    08. Extra T’s – Et Boogie
    09. Aceyalone – Superhero
    10. Quannum MCs Meet Jurassic 5 – Concenttation


    Please click HERE for more info.

  • SESSION 1281: VINYLMANIA 04.10.12

    Mixed by Monchan

    01. DJ Krush – The Nightmare of Ungah (Sandro In Effect)
    02. Nightmares on Wax – Know My Name
    03. Master at Work – Get Up
    04. DJ Shadow – Six Days(Remix) Feat.Mos Def
    05. The Orb – Ghost Dancing
    06. Massive Attack – Sly
    09. The Juan Maclean – No Time (Shit Robot Remix)
    10. Thing – Alien Attack (I’m Ready)

  • SESSION 1280: BEETRONIX 04.09.12

    Mixed by Sean Bee (Downtown161/304, Sony)

    01. La Somme
    02. Acquiescence
    03. Tobyjug
    04. Fancy Restaurant
    05. Be True
    06. Dive
    07. Labyrinth
    08. South Congress
    09. You
    10. My Balance

  • SESSION 1279: WORLD GALAXY 04.09.12

    Mixed by Takaya Nagase

    Sorry, We lost some parts of the mix.

    01. Raymond Castoldi – Biosphrer 2
    02. Jenifa Mayanja – Woman Walking In The Shadows (Filtered light Mix)
    03. Monodeluxe feat. Jaidene Veda – Change
    04. 60 Herz Project – Capricorn
    05. Cerrone vs Louie Vega – Dance Ritual 12″ Mix
    06. Scott J – It’s Better
    07. Glenn Underground – Mental Black Resurrection
    08. Henrik Schwarz & Amamp Ondo – I Exist Because Of You (Henrik Schwarz Live Version)
    09. Geoffrey Oryema Kei Kweyo (Joaquin Joe Claussell Remix)
    10. Rydims – Deep & Nice

  • SESSION 1278: A1 AFTRHRS 04.04.12

    Mixed by Seth

    01.Freestyle AllStars Vol.9 Live And Uncensored – Nas, Nature & Capone & Noriega
    02.MYTEE G. POETIC – (GENICIDE) Brick City Blue’z
    03.Group Home Feat Brainsick Mob – East NY Theory
    04.Smily The Ghetto Child – No Win Situation
    05.Fat Joe – Shit is Real
    06.BLVD.MOSSE – U C an’t Escape The Hypeness
    07.Boostin Kev – I’m A BOOSTER
    08.The P Brothers Feat. Boss Money – Boss Money Gangsters
    09.Survival Series-11355 – Money to Make
    10.Kool G Rap – Fast Life