• AFroDubSession@Rose

    SLF presents Afro-Dub Sessions
    Saturday, Mar. 27, 2010, 10 p.m.–4 a.m.
    (and every last Saturday of the month)
    Rose Live Music, 345 Grand St., Brooklyn, NY

    Sound Liberation Front (SLF), an arts and music organization based in Brooklyn, presents Afro-Dub Sessions: a monthly party at Rose Live Music in Williamsburg that combines live music and DJs to celebrate the best in Dub and African-influenced sounds.

    This month’s party will feature DJ DRM, co-founder and label manager of one of New York’s longest-running boutique record labels, Brooklyn’s Bastard Jazz Recordings. His Dubwise Sessions parties at Studio BPM were renowned for bringing live old-school reggae acts such as Cedric IM Brooks, Milton Henry and Sister Nancy together with top-notch DJs to a uniquely underground, bunker-like setting near the Brooklyn waterfront. On the decks, DJ DRM is known for his eclectic sets culled from the tide pools of Dub, Reggae, Hip-Hop, B-Boy Breaks, Latin, Disco, House, Afrobeat and more.

    As it does every month, Afro-Dub Sessions also will feature a pair of live performances by resident band Super Hi-Fi, which has been packing the house with their creative melding of Afrobeat, Dub, live remixing and special guest appearances. The five-piece collective features members of Aphrodesia, Slavic Soul Party, The Superpowers, and the Blue Man Group.
    Acclaimed Ska and Dub musician/producer Victor Rice (Moon Records/Strikkly Vikkly DubSystem) will also be on hand adding live dub effects to Super Hi-Fi’s sets. SLF’s resident DJs Linh, Q-Mastah and Lil Tiger will bring their diverse musical selections to the turntables to round out the night.

    Afro-Dub Sessions is dedicated to the idea that dub, born in Jamaica, and African musical styles like Afrobeat, Afropop and Afrofunk are natural partners in the origins of global dance music. Each month SLF aims to explore these connections by hosting a different guest DJ specializing in Dub or African-influenced styles. The April 24 party will feature Awesome Tapes from Africa’s Brian Shimkovitz.

    SOUND LIBERATION FRONT is a Brooklyn-based non-profit organization devoted to the power of music as a socially liberating and unifying cultural force. Last summer, the group organized the Sound Liberation Festival in Brooklyn. The event featured hip-hop legends Brand Nubian; electro-Afrobeat pioneers Chico Mann; Ticklah; DJs Kenny Parker, Cosmo Baker, and Ian Friday; and, workshops by Afro Mosaic Soul and DubSpot. SLF also hosts SoundLib Wednesdays at Moe’s Bar in Fort Greene.

  • AlexFromTokyo@Cielo

  • TOTH @ Cielo

  • GrooveAsasin@Cielo

  • DirtCrew @ Love

  • Rusko @ WebsterHall


    By LTD Magazine

    Two weeks ago, someone came up with the bright idea of remaking  “We Are The World”…with rappers. While results were less than swaggalitious, we at Hood Newz (boo-yao!!) managed to swap a copy of an exclusive never before heard HIP-HOP REMIX of “We Are The World” and we must say,  this is how it SHOULD have sounded!

    This mix features Bollywood sensation, DJ Khaled, renowned vocalist, T-Pain, upstart producer, Dr. Dre, Police Man’s ball host, Rick Ross, baggy-jean enthusiast, Kid Cudi, Swedish singer, Akon, children book author, Young Jeezy, satanic worshippers, Bone-Thugs-Harmony, cardigan kingpin, Drake, rehab sponsor, DMX, yogi-maven, Eminem and Christopher “King Of NY” Walken. [Read More]

  • Vadim&Nickdmus@LittleField

    MC YARAH BRAVO and NAPPY G on Percussion
    Doors 10:30pm
    21 and Over

  • SESSION 398: ZAKKA 03.02.10

    Mixed by Olé Koretsky

    01. Al Green – Here I Am
    02. David Bowie – Right
    03. Sly & the Family Stone – If You Want Me to Stay
    04. Kate Bush – Running Up that Hill (Datasette Remix)
    05. Jimmy Edgar – Turn You Inside Out
    06. Depeche Mode – World In My Eyes (Oil Tank Mix)
    07. The Beatles – Eleanor Rigby (Reverend McFly BMore Mix)
    08. The Glass – Hear the Music (Mylo Remix)
    09. Utah Saints – What Can You Do For Me?
    10. UNKLE – Keys to the Kingdom

  • JonSpencer@BlkynBowl


    “I crave the taste of blood, Good Lord Almighty, Good Lord above, My soul is lost, I said I curse the day that I ever was born.” — “She Said,” The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion 

    While the Vatican of Rock spans a wide range and often worships false idols, Jon Spencer and his Blues Explosion are particularly soulful pontiffs. Plastic Fang was recorded at Manhattan’s Oorong Sound, with Steve Jordan (producer) and Don Smith (engineer). Their combined experience includes time spent with The Rolling Stones, Stevie Wonder, Tom Petty, Bob Dylan, and countless other rock pioneers. Like those giants, there’s nothing small about Plastic Fang, and it marks the first time that this powerhouse band has been accurately represented on vinyl (or, you know, disc). 

    Jon’s voice has never sounded better; over time he’s developed the depth and control that characterize the best rock and soul singers. He and Judah’s guitar’s are massive here, yet retain the distinct qualities that were sometimes lost in the past, and Russell’s innovative style is in full flourish. Most importantly, this is quite simply their strongest collection of songs yet. With a tighter and more considered approach to writing and recording this time around, Jon’s growth as a songwriter is explicit, though the band’s style remains wild. With its vivid imagery and lustful, adrenalized music, Plastic Fang cages the resolute intensity of possibly the best live band playing today. 

    Formed in 1991 after the demise of Spencer’s seminal hatefuck band Pussy Galore, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion has always included drummer Russell Simins and guitar ace Judah Bauer. Taking cues from rock, punk, r&b, garage, hardcore, and hip hop idioms, while transcending the limitations of each, the Blues Explosion created a new sound which they’ve spent six records both honing and redefining. Plastic Fang encompasses everything that’s ever been great about this band, then ups the ante still more: It’s a mindbendingly soulful record by three musicians whose abilities have yet to be fully recognized, as deft and bold and life-affirming as the Meters, the Magic Band, or the Birthday Party.

  • JunctionSM@ Love

  • SESSION 397: FUNKY SLICE 03.01.10

    Mixed by Takaya Nagase 

    01. Kraftwerk – Autobahn
    02. Japanese Synchro System – C2 Main Mix (Carl Craig)
    03. Passport – Loco – Motive
    04. Gong – Flying Teapot
    05. Juzu – Chan Van ~Tribute To Angkor Wat~
    06. Innervisions presents Secret Weapons – Madioko ‘ N’ Rafika
    07. Altair Nouveau – Space Fortress
    08. House of House – Rushing To Paradise (DJ Harvey Streets Mix)
    09. Keep Her Keen
    10. Unknown

  • Deep&Disco@Rose